Resuming work post-retirement

You are a pensioner and consider resuming work post-retirement.

Resuming work post retirement

Pension eligibility requirements are set forth as follows by article R426-15-4 of the French code of civil aviation: “A pension is only payable if the member has ceased all air or cabin crew duties, with or without registration on the special registers, in any of the following categories: acceptance testing, air transportation, or aerial work, whether in France or abroad.”

Please be aware that the DGAC’s special registers were eliminated in 2020.

If the member resumes air crew employment post-retirement, whether in France or abroad, their pension will be suspended for the duration of their post-retirement employment.

  • If employment is resumed for less than 22 days, payment of the member’s pension will be suspended for the number of days of resumed employment multiplied by 30/22, rounded up to the nearest full day. This means that if employment is resumed for 2 days, pension payment will be suspended for 3 days (2 x 30/22).
  • If employment is resumed for 22 to 30 days, payment of the member’s pension will be suspended for 30 days.
  • If employment is resumed for more than 30 days, payment of the member’s pension will be suspended for the exact duration of the member’s post-retirement employment.

You will need to notify CRPN in writing of any resumption of post-retirement air crew employment before your actual start date, to avoid any undue pension payments. Every year, CRPN is forced to bring legal action against members who draw air crew wages on top of their CRPN pension.

If a deceased member had resumed employment, engendering undue pension payments, CRPN will bill the member’s beneficiaries for reimbursement.

 

The alternating work-retirement program

If an air crew member has claimed their basic (e.g. CNAV) retirement pension effective on or after January 1st, 2015, any employment as an air crew member performed post-retirement will not generate any further pension entitlements.”

If you do not qualify for this new program (either you have not claimed your entitlements under a basic scheme, or you claimed your entitlements under a basic scheme prior to January 1st, 2015), any contributions paid during your period of resumed employment will be taken into account toward your entitlements as from January 1st of the following year. Your pension will continue to be calculated according to the rules that applied to your original claim (IVSC (Corrected wage variation index, uprated according the upward adjustment rate for pensions, valuation rate for the years you have accrued beyond 25, early-claim, decrease, or rate reduction factor, and number of “a” days as set forth by article R.426-5 d of the French Code of Civil Aviation, amended by decree No. 2011-1500).

To learn more, please refer to our guide on resuming work post-retirement.

Frequently asked questions

Check out our FAQ page

Reprendre une activité

Vous êtes pensionné et envisagez de reprendre une activité de navigant.

La reprise d’activité

Il vous appartient de prévenir par écrit les services de la CRPN de votre reprise d’activité de navigant avant la date d’effet de celle-ci afin d’éviter tout indu de pension que vous seriez dans l’obligation de rembourser.

Les conditions de jouissance de la pension sont définies comme suit par l’article R426-15-4 du code de l’aviation civile : « La jouissance de la pension est subordonnée à la cessation de toute activité de navigant, ou de membre d’équipage, inscrits ou non sur les registres spéciaux, exercée dans les catégories : essais et réception, transport aérien, travail aérien, tant en France qu’à l’étranger. »

En cas de reprise d’activité de navigant, en France ou à l’étranger, la pension doit être suspendue pendant la durée de la reprise d’activité.

  • Lorsque la reprise d’activité est inférieure à 22 jours, le versement de la pension est suspendu pendant 30/22ème de jours, arrondis au nombre de jours supérieur. Ainsi, pour une reprise d’activité de 2 jours, le versement de votre pension sera suspendu pendant 3 jours (2 x 30/22).
  • Entre 22 et 30 jours de reprise d’activité, le versement est suspendu pendant 30 jours.
  • Au-delà de 30 jours de reprise d’activité, le versement de la pension est suspendu pendant la durée exacte de l’activité.

Il vous appartient de prévenir par écrit les services de la CRPN de votre reprise d’activité avant la date d’effet de celle-ci afin d’éviter tout indu de pension que vous seriez dans l’obligation de rembourser. Chaque année, la CRPN est contrainte d’engager des poursuites contre des navigants qui cumulent activité de navigant et pension CRPN.

Lorsqu’une reprise d’activité engendre un indu de pension, la CRPN, en cas de décès du navigant, en demandera le remboursement aux ayants droit.

 

Le dispositif Cumul Emploi Retraite

Lorsqu’un navigant a liquidé sa pension de retraite de base (CNAV par exemple), à compter du 1er janvier 2015, toute activité de navigant (ou autre) exercée postérieurement à cette liquidation n’est pas génératrice de droit nouveau.

Si vous n’êtes pas concerné par ce nouveau dispositif (soit vous n’avez pas liquidé vos droits dans un régime de base, soit vous avez liquidé vos droits dans un régime de base avant le 1er janvier 2015)  les cotisations éventuelles enregistrées pendant la reprise d’activité sont prises en compte dans le calcul des droits à compter du 1er janvier de l’année suivante. La pension reste calculée avec les paramètres qui ont servi pour la liquidation initiale (IVSC revalorisé par le rapport des IVP, taux de valorisation des annuités au-delà de 25, coefficient minorateur ou décote, nombre de jours «a» prévu à l’article R 426-5 d) du code de l’aviation civile modifié par le décret 2011-1500).

 

Si vous souhaitez plus d’information, n’hésitez pas à consulter notice sur la reprise d’activité.

Questions Fréquentes

Découvrez notre page Questions